No Boundaries La Liga Feminina

April 19, 2024


This weekend six teams start their campaign to be crowned the National Women’s champions of Spain at the end of the year.

Players from Barcelona Storm, Madrid Royals, Malaga Fire, Murcia Cobras, Sevilla Scorpions and Valencia Vipers converge on Barcelona for the first of four weekends to determine who will be crowned the first ever Women champions of Spain.

All matches during the spring, summer, fall and winter will be played at the cricket specific Julia Camp any ground and it will kick off this Saturday with the cricket “El Classico” between the Storm and Royals.

Eight matches in total will be played this weekend with all teams playing a minimum of two games.

The hosts will be looking to get off to a flyer and the Storm’s coach Shaukat Shabbaz will have the Barcelona International duo of Uswa Syed and Lauren Parmenter to call upon.

Alisa Salim Arra, Samaia Basharat and Rabia Ahmed Iqbal will also figure prominently in the coaches plans throughout the season.

Madrid Cricket Club stalwart Lewis Clark will take charge of the Royals and as the fortune of having Naomi Bermanjo in his line-up. He is also familiar with the ability of his Madrid CC counterpart Julia Zamorano Molina and he will be hoping that his strike bowler Jaspreet Grang Kaur will bring the side a shed full of wickets. Muskan Naseeb is also expected to make useful contributions throughout the season.

UK based all-rounder Andrea Davidson will spearhead the Malaga Fire effort. She will be reliably supported by Aneesa Azmet and the evergreen Catherine Morreti. Finally, the new Spanish National team coach Molly Sellars will add experience and quality to the Fires chances of success.

The national team captain Elspeth Fowler will skipper her local provincial side, the Murcia Cobras. Cataluyna based internationals Hifsa Butt, Simeran Grang Kaur and Rabia Mushtaq add strength to the starting eleven and the teenager Maria Zamorano Molina is sure to learn from this opportunity.

The Sevilla Scorpions will be hoping to have a sting in their performances and will be relying on Amy Brown Carrera to provide points in the win column. Zaneeb Arif Malik is also expected to make major contributions to the Andalusian club’s cause.

Valencia Vipers are the final team in the league mix. Madrid CC star Payal Chilongia will switch allegiance for this event and the Vipers have the exciting prospect of the Lancashire youngster Deepa Chuckapalli in their ranks. Wania Arif Malikis another name to look out for on the Viper’s scorecard.

The six teams will be playing for a purpose made trophy by Loki, the makers of the medals and silverware that are used in the Indian Premier League.

All matches will be scored live on the Cricclubs Cricket España app, (link here) with the final event when the champions are crowned will be live streamed on the Cricket España You tube channel -(Live link here when broadcasting).





Read more from